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LICENSE RENEWAL

8 Annual license renewal post cards will be mailed to all licensees the first week in

g August 2018 for the licensure r, which ins 10-1-18. Blank renewal forms can also be
8 obtained from our website at , 2018. All renewals should
§ be submitted online or by mail an September 30, 2018 to
8 keep your license valid and av er 30 postmarks will be

g honored.

Allow one week for the rene ard by August 30, 2018, two
8 weeks if received between that date and September 16, 2018 and three weeks if received :
3 later.

'f Continuing education is not due with this license fee renewal.

CONDITIONAL DISMISSAL

At the November 16, 2017 Board meeting Ms. Conway presented the Conditional Dismissal for
4 the Board to review. This policy can be a resolution to complaints that result in the appraiser B
i taking education and then a case is dismissed. After much discussion the board approved this §

d policy.

§ Presently, at Probable Cause, legal counsel currently makes a recommendation that the case
B be dismissed, dismissed with a letter of warning or should proceed to a hearing. Sometimes

§ the decision is clear, but in ot In which it appears that the
8 trainee or appraiser did not do ted out of ignorance. In

§ Some circumstances a letter o he respondent needs further
2 education.

8 The Alabama Real Estate Ap tutory authority to force a
§ respondent to take a continuin 0 a consent agreement

8 where the respondent agrees 0 enter into a consent

g agreement, the Board must fir

a The Board has adopted a disp s Conditional Dismissal.

§ Under this disposition, counse t the respondent be

8 dismissed once the respondent successfully completes a specified continuing education or

B pre-licensing class. The respondent is given a finite amount of time, usually six months, to

8 complete the course; if the course is completed, the case is then dismissed with no further

4 Board involvement. If the course is not completed, counsel brings the case back to Probable
3 Cause for further consideration by the Board.

8 Since the respondent may receive continuing education for the class, it is not considered
{ disciplinary action and is not reported to the Appraisal Subcommittee as such.
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DISCIPLINARY REPORT

The Alabama Law requires the Board to regulate the conduct of appraisers in Alabama. The
Board’s Administrative Rules outline the procedure for handling complaints. The Uniform
Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice provide the basic ethical standards for which
appraisers must comply. Appraisers should carefully note the following violations, which
resulted in disciplinary action of the Board.

AB 16-01 On November 17, 2016 the Board approved a Consent Settlement Order from
Certified Residential appraiser Travis Grant Berry, R00784, where Licensee agreed to pay a $500
administrative fine. The violations in the appraisal report were: Licensee did not include in the
report the summary of facts analyzed to support the opinion of the highest and best use. Licensee
provided the effective age of 4 years for a home built in 2005 (actual age of 8 years at the time of
the appraisal). The Licensee did not include in the report a summary of facts analyzed to support
an effective age less than the actual age. Licensee failed to provide a list of all the verification
sources consulted when selecting sales data. USPAP 2012-2013 was the current edition of USPAP
at the time of the appraisal assignment and Licensee stated he used the 2010 edition. In the URAR/
Site/Dimensions section, the source of the dimensions analyzed was stated but failed to provide the
actual dimensions. In the URAR/Cost Approach/Support for the Opinion of Site Value section,
Licensee failed to provide the data/information analyzed to support the opinion of site value. In the
Photograph Addendum/Comparable section, Licensee failed to inform that he used MLS
photographs.

AB 14-20 On March 16, 2017, the Board approved a Consent Settlement Order from Austin S.
Kimberly, Jr., GO0389 where the Licensee agreed to pay an administrative fine of $500 and
complete additional education on the cost approach. The violations cited in the report were: The
workfile was incomplete, it only contained copies of multiple listings of the sale, tax data sheets for
the subject and copies of the deed for sale, there was no data to support adjustment in sales
comparison approach or in support of income, occupancy or expenses used in income approach.
Work file was supplemented with a rent and vacancy survey but still lacked support for Licensee’s
opinions and conclusions. Adjustments must be supported with market data. Licensee used actual
income of the subject property and did not determine market rents, occupancy and normal
expenses which indicate that the Licensee did not understand the income approach to value.
Licensee committed a substantial error by not making adjustments to two comparable properties
that were significantly different from Subject. Licensee committed a substantial error by using the
actual income for the subject property from the prior year and not estimating potential gross income,
market occupancy rates and normal operating expenses. Licensee failed to verify the comparable
sales utilized in the report with a party to the transaction, instead utilizing what was labeled in the
report as the Indirect Method of Verification. The Licensee mentions several types of “indirect
verification” sources including such as data reporting services, multiple listing services or another
appraiser. It is noted that The Appraisal of Real Estate, Thirteenth Edition, page 305 states
“Referencing public records and data services does not verify a sales transaction. It simply
confirms that a transaction was recorded. Similarly, referencing the source of secondary data only
firms its existence and does not verify the transaction. Licensee failed to properly analyze the
comparable rental data or potential gross income of the subject, instead licensee utilized actual
current income.
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AB 14-21 On March 16, 2017, the Board approved a Consent Settlement Order from Walker
Reynolds, Ill, R01062 where the Licensee agreed to pay an administrative fine of $500 and
complete additional education on the cost approach. The violations cited in the report were: The
workfile was incomplete, it only contained copies of multiple listings of the sale, tax data sheets for
the subject and copies of the deed for the sale, there was no data to support adjustments in sales
comparison approach or in support of income, occupancy or expenses used in income approach.
Work file was supplemented with a rent and vacancy survey but still lacked support for Licensee’s
opinions and conclusions. Adjustments must be supported with market data. Licensee used actual
income of the subject property and did not determine market rents, occupancy and normal
expenses which indicate that the Licensee did not understand the income approach to value.
Licensee committed a substantial error by not making adjustments to two comparable properties
that were significantly different from Subject. Licensee committed a substantial error by using the
actual income for the subject property from the prior year and not estimating potential gross income,
market occupancy rates and normal operating expenses. Licensee failed to verify the comparable
sales utilized in the report with a party to the transaction, instead utilizing what was labeled in the
report as the Indirect Method of Verification. The Licensee mentions several types of “indirect
verification” sources such as data reporting services, multiple listing services and another appraiser.
It is noted that The Appraisal of Real Estate, Thirteenth Edition, page 305 states “Referencing
public records and data services does not verify a sales transaction. It simply confirms that a
transaction was recorded. Similarly, referencing the source of secondary data only confirms its
existence and does not verify the transaction. Licensee failed to properly analyze the comparable
rental data or potential gross income of the subject, instead licensee utilized actual current income.

AB 16-39, AB 16-40 On September 21, 2017 the Board approved a Consent Settlement
Order from Certified Residential appraiser Charles M. England, R0O0790, where Licensee agreed to
complete a fifteen (15) hour USPAP course with exam. The violations in the appraisal reports were:
AB 16-39: Licensee knowingly violated the Record Keeping Rule because he did not retain a “true
copy” (replica) of all written appraisal reports communicated to the Client. Licensee issued several
reports during the assignment and did not keep a “true copy” (replica) of all appraisal reports
transmitted to the Client. The work file did not include documentation to support the conclusions of
the opinion of site value in the Cost Approach. In the URAR/Improvements section, the condition
ratings of the building materials did not support the effective age being less than the actual age. In
the URAR/Improvements section, included the room count from the additional living area which
resulted in inaccurate information being provided for the room count of the gross living area. In the
URAR/ Sales Comparison Approach/ Subject/ Gross Living Area/ Square Footage section, included
the area of the additional living area in the GLA. In the URAR/Sales Comparison Approach/
Summary of Sales Comparison Approach section, provided commentary of the GLA per square foot
adjustment being $30 per square foot, when the actual per square foot adjustment was in the $20
per square foot range. In the URAR/ Sales Comparison Approach/ Summary of Sales Comparison
Approach section said an age adjustment was made to Sale Three and both listings.
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The age adjustment was made to Comp #1 but not Comp #3. In the Cost Approach section,
indicated reproduction cost estimate and then stated it was replacement cost. In the URAR/ Sales
Comparison Approach/ Functional Utility section, provided the functional utility as “Typical” without
explaining what was considered typical functional utility within the local market. In the URAR/Site/
Highest & Best Use section, failed to summarize the information analyzed to support highest and
best use of the Subject property as the present use.

AB 16-40: Licensee knowingly violated the Record Keeping Rule because he did not retain a “true
copy” (replica) of all written appraisal reports communicated to the Client. Several reports were
transmitted to the client during the assignment and Licensee did not keep a “true copy” (replica) of
all the appraisal reports transmitted to the Client. In the URAR/Sales Comparison Approach/
Comparable #1/Porch-Patio-Deck section, analyzed a covered patio, when there was also a
covered porch at the front entrance of the home. In the URAR/Sales Comparison Approach/
Comparable #2/Porch-Patio-Deck section, analyzed a deck, when there was also a covered
wrap-around porch at the front entrance and sides of the home. Licensee failed to analyze the
amenity of the storm shelter in the garage floor of the comparable (Comparable located within an
area, where severe weather is common.) Licensee failed to use an appropriate appraisal method
and technique to develop a site value.

In the URAR/Sales Comparison Approach/Comparable #3/Fireplace section, provided there was a
fireplace, when there was not a fireplace. In the URAR/Sales Comparison Approach/Comparable
#7/Design-Style section, provided the home as a two story, when the home was a three story.
Licensee, in the URAR/Cost Approach section, indicated development of reproduction cost and in
commentary said replacement cost being used. In the URAR/Site/Highest & Best Use section,
failed to summarize the information analyzed, to support Licensee’s opinion and conclusions of the
highest and best use of the Subject property being the present use. In the URAR/Sales Comparison
Approach/Gross Living Area/Total Room Count and Bedroom Count sections, failed to summarize
the analyses of the comparable sales total room count and bedroom count, when different from the
Subject’s total room count and bedroom count. Licensee failed to summarize support and rationale
for the opinion of the highest and best use as the present use.

AB 16-41 On September 21, 2017 the Board approved a Consent Settlement Order from Certified
Residential appraiser Charles M. England, R00790, where Licensee agreed to complete a fifteen
(15) hour USPAP course with exam. The violations in the appraisal reports were: Licensee
performed an appraisal assignment in a grossly negligent manner by including 800SF finished
basement in the 2992 SF GLA for Comp 4, a listing included in the Sales Comparison approach for
informational purpose only; by failing to analyze the HOA fees or list all the amenities of the
subdivision when use of the amenities was limited to members of private clubs where membership
was available to any resident of the county. The workfile did not contain documentation to support
the Income Approach. Even though Licensee did not give any weight to the Income Approach, there
were many errors in the development of the approach; Licensee developed a single family
comparable rent schedule and operation income statement with many errors. Licensee provided in
the legal description and elsewhere within the appraisal report, the site area of the Subject property
consisted of two lots. Licensee failed to provide commentary to explain, the analyses of the
assemblage of the two lots into a single site area for the Subject property and the effect on value, if
any.
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Letters of Warning were issued on the following investigations for the discrepancies indicated.
This disciplinary action will be considered in any future discipline proceedings:

AB 16-09  The reconciliation did not summarize how Licensee arrived at his final estimate of
value from the two approaches to value developed for the assignment. Licensee reported there was
sanitary sewer when there was not, reported public gas available at property when it was not,
reported data source for some of comparable sales was MLS when it was another appraiser’s file.
There is no explanation of the exclusion of the Cost Approach and the Income Approach as
required by USPAP. Licensee failed to summarize support and rationale for the opinion of the
highest and best use developed by Licensee.

AB 16-24  When Licensee omitted the highest and best use analysis, he failed to demonstrate
that the licensee was aware of, understands, and correctly employs those recognized methods and
techniques that are necessary to produce a credible appraisal; Licensee failed to develop a highest
and best use analysis.

AB 16-25  When Licensee omitted the highest and best use analysis, he failed to demonstrate
that the licensee was aware of, understands, and correctly employs those recognized methods and
techniques that are necessary to produce a credible appraisal; Licensee failed to develop a highest
and best use analysis.

AB 16-30 On April 10, 2018 to a Certified General appraiser because even though the assignment
was abandoned by the client, the appraiser’s work file included a signed and dated appraiser
certification although the appraiser maintains that an appraisal was never completed and a report
was never written. A draft of report prepared at any stage of the appraisal process should never
include a signature.

AB-17-17 On March 29, 2018 to a Certified Residential appraiser where the reports says the
verification source for sales is MLS and Public Records. The assignment is for a report that meets
FANNIE MAE guidelines and the failure to verify the sales with a party to the transaction violates
FANNIE MAE guidelines and the Scope of Work.

AB 17-18 On March 29, 2018 to a Certified Residential appraiser where Licensee did not
demonstrate that she has geographic competency in the subject property market place. Licensee
used sales from surrounding counties as comparables but did not use any sales in the county
where the subject property is located. Investigation revealed at least three sales listed in the MLS
that serves the area that could have been considered as comparable sales. The stated verification
source for sales is MLS and Public Records.

AB 16-26  The Board approved a Consent Settlement Order with Certified General Appraiser
Constance C. Whitworth, GO0380. Licensee agreed to pay an administrative fine of Seven
Hundred Fifty ($750) Dollars and complete a fifteen (15) hours USPAP course. The USPAP course
cannot be used for continuing education credit. The violations in the appraisal report were: Licensee
utilized the Sales Comparison Approach to value and made several large adjustments to the
comparable sales but has no justification or support for these adjustments in the appraisal report or
in the work file. Licensee states that the subject property sold March 2016 and that the sales price

PAGE 6 ‘ THE APPRAISER BULLETIN




was $197,900 verified from deed records. Investigation reveals that the stated consideration in the
deed is ten dollars and other consideration. Attached to the deed is a Real Estate Sales Validation
Form that shows the Assessor’s Market Value as $197,900 and the Purchase Price is blank.
Licensee met with the client/owner of the subject property but did not ask about sales price of the
property or any details concerning the March 2016 sale. Licensee committed a substantial error by
stating the subject sold in March 2016 for $197,600 and that the sales price came from the deed
when it did not. Licensee continues in the Final reconciliation section of the report and states “the
recent sale of the subject was concluded to also offer some insight into value. The subject was
purchased 3/15/2016 for $197,500.” Licensee did not analyze this sale that took place on the
property less than 6 months prior to the effective date of the assignment and licensee also failed to
gather pertinent information about the sale such as relationship between buyer and seller, how the
property was marketed, how long it was on the market and if it were a cash transaction. between
buyer and seller, how the property was marketed, how long it was on the market and if it were a
cash transaction. Investigation revealed that there was a transfer of the property from the elderly
owner to a caregiver and this transfer was not an arm’s length transaction due to the relationship
between elderly owner and caregiver, and the transaction did not meet the definition of market val-
ue in order for licensee to state “the recent sale of the subject was concluded to also offer some in-
sight into value. Licensee disclosed but did not analyze the March 2016 sale of the subject property
less than 6 months prior to the effective date of the assignment. She failed to gather accurate de-
tails of the transaction such as relationship between buyer and seller, how the property was market-
ed, how long it was on the market and if it were a cash transaction.

AB-17-08  The Board approved a Consent Settlement Order with Certified General appraiser
Everett S. Brooks, G00442. Licensee agreed to pay an administrative fine of Three Thousand
($3,000) Dollars. The violations in the appraisal report were: Licensee performed an appraisal
assignment in a grossly negligent manner: Licensee certified to personally preparing all conclusions
and opinions about the real estate that was set forth in the appraisal report. Licensee failed to state
the reliance on significant real property appraisal assistance from Angel Lanier in the performance
of the appraisal and failed to disclose the tasks performed by Angel Lanier. Licensee’s workfile did
not include a “true copy” (replica) of all written appraisal reports communicated to the Client along
with all data, information and documentation necessary to support the appraiser’s opinions and
conclusions and show compliance with USPAP. The failure was willful and with knowledge of the
requirements of the Record Keeping Rule. Licensee’s workfile: Failed to provide a “true
copy” (replica) of all appraisal reports transmitted to the Client, at the time of the appraisal
assignment. Licensee’s workfile, as provided to AREAB, failed to provide a copy of the appraisal
report transmitted with a date of signature and report of 05/11/2017 with additional commentary
dated 5/17/2017 within the appraisal report. Failed to provide support of the opinion and
conclusions of the effective age; Licensee analyzed a single (one) comparable sale to develop the
effective age and used a sale price of $134,175 when the actual sale price was $140,000; as a
result, the workfile did not support the opinion and conclusions of the effective age analyzed within
the appraisal report Effective age of 20 years for a home reported to be ~41 years actual age.
Licensee: Analyzed a +3,000 adjustment in the Sales Comparison Approach/Comparable #1/
Garage-Carport section, when according to Licensee, there should have been a “$0” adjustment
analyzed; Analyzed the construction cost of the front porch, with a roof and step-up concrete floor,
and the building cost of the rear deck, with a shed roof and wooden floor, together at the same per
square foot cost in the Cost Approach; Analyzed the construction cost of the attached carport
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carport and the construction cost of the detached garage (site improvement) together, at the same
per square foot cost in the Cost Approach; In the Subject Photo Addendum section, provided

photos taken by Angel Lanier and withheld the source of the photos; In the Comparable Photo
Addendum section, provided MLS photos without providing the actual data source of the photos; In
the Appraiser’s Certification #1, certified to at a minimum, developing and reporting the appraisal in
accordance with the scope of work requirements stated in the appraisal report. Some of the scope
of work requirements, as stated on the first page of the preprinted section of the URAR under
Scope of Work, were not performed. The Scope of Work provides for: Perform a complete visual
inspection of the interior and exterior areas of the subject property. The visual inspection was
performed by Angel Lanier and not by Licensee. Inspect the neighborhood. The fieldwork was
performed by Angel Lanier and not by Licensee. In the Appraiser’s Certification #2, certified to, an
interior and exterior inspection of the subject property, when the inspections were performed by
Angel Lanier. In the Appraiser’s Certification #15, certified that he had not knowingly withheld any
significant information and to the best of Licensee’s knowledge, all statements and information in
the appraisal report are true and correct. Licensee failed to provide significant information, the
appraisal assignment was assigned to Licensee with the fieldwork (inspections, photos,
measurement, etc.) being performed by Angel Lanier. Licensee performed the analyses for the
Sales Comparison Approach and Cost Approach along with keying information into the appraisal
report and addendum. In the Appraiser’s Certification #19, certified to, if Licensee relied on
significant real property appraisal assistance from any individual in the performance of the appraisal
or preparation of the appraisal report, the individual is named and disclosure of the specific tasks
performed were provided within the appraisal report. Licensee represented the appraisal report
was prepared without significant appraisal assistance, when significant appraisal assistance was
provided by Angel Lanier. Licensee, in Comparable #1/Condition section, analyzed the cost to
cure for the superior condition. The appraisal report nor workfile supported the $8,000 adjustment
being developed by appropriate methods and techniques with supported data. (No analyses, no
figures & calculations with a data source, no support the market would be willing to pay a cost to
cure in a condition adjustment.) Licensee, in Comparable #1/Garage-Carport section, analyzed a +
$3,000 adjustment. According to Licensee, the amount should have been provided and analyzed
as “0” rather than the + $3,000. Licensee, in the Subject Photo Addendum section, provided photos
taken by Angel Lanier. The photos were not taken by Licensee, as evidence of an exterior and
interior inspection of the subject property. Inspection was performed by another appraiser without
the assistance being noted in the appraisal report. Licensee, in the Comparable Photo Addendum
sections, provided MLS photos without providing the actual source of the photos. The photos
provided were MLS photos and not the original photos taken by Licensee. Licensee, in the
Appraiser’s Certification #1, certified to at a minimum, developing and reporting the appraisal in
accordance with the scope of work requirements stated in the appraisal report. Some of the scope
of work requirements stated in the first page of the preprinted section of the URAR under Scope of
Work were not performed. Perform a complete visual inspection of the interior and exterior areas of
the subject property. The visual inspection was performed by Angel Lanier and not by Licensee.
Inspect the neighborhood. The fieldwork was performed by Angel Lanier and not by Licensee.
Licensee, in the Appraiser’s Certification #2, certified to an interior and exterior inspection of the
subject property, when the inspections were performed by Angel Lanier. Licensee, in the
Appraiser’s Certification #15, certified to not knowingly withholding any significant information and to
the best of Licensee’s knowledge, all statements and information in the appraisal report are true
and correct. Licensee failed to provide significant information, the appraisal assignment was
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assigned to Licensee with the fieldwork (inspections, photos, measurement, etc.) being performed
by Angel Lanier. Licensee performed the analyses for the Sales Comparison Approach and the
Cost Approach along with keying information into the appraisal report and addendum. Licensee, in
the Appraiser’s Certification #19, certified to, if Licensee relied on significant real property appraisal
assistance from any individual in the performance of the appraisal or preparation of the appraisal
report, the individual is named and disclosure of the specific tasks performed were provided within
the appraisal report. Licensee represented the appraisal report was prepared without significant
appraisal assistance, when significant appraisal assistance was provided by Angel Lanier. Licen-
see, in the URAR/Improvements section, provided the condition of the building materials as being in
average condition with commentary of no updates in the prior 15 years. Additional commentary
was provided, the property was found to be in average condition and maintained well at the time of
the inspection. Licensee failed to provide sufficient information to explain, how a home built in 1976
(41 years actual age) would have an effective age of 20 years. Licensee, in the URAR/
Improvements/Car Storage section, indicated detached for the carport and garage in the checkbox
for detached. Licensee failed to provide commentary to explain the garage was detached and the
carport was attached. Licensee failed to provide an indication in the checkbox or commentary of
the carport being attached. Licensee, in the URAR/Sales Comparison Approach/Comparable #4
and Comparable #5/Sales or Financing section, provided information of arms-length with $0
concession for the listings, without sufficient information being provided to explain why the
Information was provided for a listing. Licensee, in the Cost Approach/Dwelling Cost section,
developed a dwelling cost of $81.25 from the online cost service. The dwelling cost was then
reduced to $80.00 per square foot, because the subject was located outside of the city where
regulatory/permit cost was lower. Licensee failed to provide data/ information to explain the figures/
calculations analyzed for the reduction in per square foot dwelling cost, where the lender/client
could replicate the cost figures and calculations. ($81.25 x ?? = $80.00) Licensee, in the Cost
Approach section, provided the opinion of site value was developed from the research of latest
sales or through allocation. Licensee failed to provide the actual method and technique employed
in the development of the opinion of site value. (The actual method & technique employed to
develop the opinion of site value was not provided. Research of latest sales is not a method and
technique but a task performed. Licensee used the term “or”, which made it unclear if either was
performed.)

AB 17-13  The Board approved a Consent Settlement Order with Certified Residential appraiser
Anthony Lee Johnson, R00993. Licensee agree to surrender his license to the Board. The
violations in the report were: Licensee chose not to use comparable sales in closer proximity to the
subject and available to the Licensee that would indicate a value significantly lower than Licensee’s
value opinion and instead used sales that were located in different towns, over 10 miles in distance
from the subject but that resulted in a significantly different opinion of value. Licensee failed to
perform the research for comparable sales that were needed to produce a credible assignment.
Licensee failed to do adequate research in the subject market and bypassed sales in closer
proximity that were comparable and that would produce a different value opinion. Because
Licensee did not have market based data or other justification for the adjustments made in the
Sales Comparison Approach, the Licensee did not demonstrate that he understood how to correctly
employ the methods and techniques to reach a credible result. Licensee mis-measured the subject
improvements and used a gross living area that was 234 square feet less than the correct GLA.
Licensee failed to use sales that were more similar, hence more comparable that were available in
the immediate market that would produce a more credible opinion of value.
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BOARD INVESTIGATOR RETIRES

After working with the Alabama Real Estate Appraisers Board as
investigator for over 13 years, Joe Dixon has decided to retire. His last
day with the Board was May 31.

Mr. Dixon began his career as a
Real Estate Appraiser in the days
before a license was necessary.

He was licensed as a Certified
General appraiser in 1991. He
worked as a fee appraiser and spent
some years as a tax appraiser in
Jefferson County.

Mr. Dixon has worked diligently to
ensure that complaints against
appraisers are investigated and
resolved in a timely manner. His
expertise and knowledge of USPAP
will be genuinely missed.

Joe was a little close mouthed about
his plans for retirement but did admit :
that the bright lights and soothing tunes of Nashville, Tennessee were
beckoning.
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EVALUATIONS

There has been much discussion in the “appraisal world” regarding
evaluations. As you know, evaluations are alternatives to appraisals
for the banking industry. Guidelines for the use and development of
evaluations are published in the Federal Joint Banking Agencies
regulations.

Evaluations have never been defined or addressed in USPAP. At the
present time, USPAP requires that an appraiser include procedures
and reporting requirements not required for evaluations when
reporting an opinion of value.

Alabama Law requires that every appraiser must comply with USPAP.
Alabama Law also defines an appraisal as an opinion of value of real
property which does not leave room for evaluations.

For Alabama appraisers to perform evaluations for lenders, a change
in the Alabama Real Estate Appraisers Board law MUST be made.
For this law to be changed our Board must propose changes and
present those changes to the Alabama Legislature while they are in
session. At this time the Board’s hands are tied. However, the Board
has scheduled a work session to be held before their July 2018
meeting to discuss this issue.
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